How is Dholera's land divided up, and how much can be sold?
How the land is divided, and how much can be sold
Land in Dholera is not one pool. Some was handed over by the state, some is described as developable, a fixed share is reserved by law for roads, parks, housing for poorer families and social facilities, and only what is left can be sold. This page separates those, so you can see how much land is genuinely available rather than how much appears in a headline. The region is planned over 920 sq km, of which 422 sq km is described as developable and 48.31 sq km was transferred to the development company as the State's equity, all as at 31 March 2025. Every area, share and allotment figure below carries its own date and page.
Areas: planned, developable, transferred, owned
Four different areas are published for the same project and they measure four different things. The planned area is a boundary. The developable area is a subset of it. The transferred area is what the State handed to the company as its share of the equity. The owned area inside the Activation Area is smaller still.
Area and equity quantities from the annual reports
| Quantity | Value | Unit | Date reference | Tag | Source file and page | CK |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dsir total planned area | 920 | sq km | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Dsir total planned area | 920 | sq km | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Dsir developable area | 422 | sq km | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p3 | |
| Activation area | 22.5 | sq km | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Activation area | 22.5 | sq km | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Land transferred by dsirda as matching equity area | 48.31 | sq km | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Land transferred by dsirda as matching equity area | 48.31 | sq km | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Dsirda equity contribution land area | 4 830.83 | hectare | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p71 (printed p60) | |
| Activation area under company ownership | 1 167.87 | hectare | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p71 (printed p60) | |
| Land transferred by dsirda as matching equity value | 2 898.5 | INR crore | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Land transferred by dsirda as matching equity value | 2 898.5 | INR crore | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Government of india sanctioned infrastructure projects value | 2 784.83 | INR crore | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Government of india sanctioned infrastructure projects value | 2 784.83 | INR crore | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) |
Source: DICDL statutory annual reports FY2023-24 and FY2024-25, pages as cited per row.
Allotment: available, allotted, named
The annual reports give a cumulative allotted area and an available area, and they name some of the allottees. They do not attach an area, a price or a date to any individual name, and the lists are explicitly incomplete.
Allotment quantities as stated by the company
| Quantity | Value | Unit | Date reference | Tag | Source file and page | CK |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial land available for allotment | 1 519 | acre | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Industrial land available for allotment | 1 519 | acre | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Industrial land allotted cumulative | 522 | acre | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) | |
| Industrial land allotted cumulative | 530 | acre | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) | |
| Gsem land allotment subsidy for allotment to semifab private limited | 13 646.74 | INR lakh | at 31 March 2024 | OFFICIAL | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p112 (printed p106) |
Industrial allottees named in the annual reports
| Allottee as named | Named in | As at | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| M/s Semifab Private Limited | FY 2023-24 | at 31 March 2024 | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) |
| M/s TATA Chemicals Limited | FY 2023-24 | at 31 March 2024 | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) |
| M/s Renew Photovoltaics Private Limited | FY 2023-24 | at 31 March 2024 | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) |
| M/s Polycab India Limited | FY 2023-24 | at 31 March 2024 | AR_FY2023-24.pdf, p19 (printed p13) |
| M/s Tata Semiconductor Manufacturing Private Limited (formerly M/s Semifab Private Limited) | FY 2024-25 | at 31 March 2025 | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) |
| M/s Renew Photovoltaics Private Limited | FY 2024-25 | at 31 March 2025 | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) |
| M/s Polycab India Limited | FY 2024-25 | at 31 March 2025 | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) |
| M/s Inox Air Products Limited | FY 2024-25 | at 31 March 2025 | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p20 (printed p9) |
The monthly proforma publishes its own allotment series with different values. Both are held in this register: see the monthly series, the annual report series and the comparison.
Source: DICDL annual reports, Board's report section. The allottee lists are quoted as printed, including the honorific and the abbreviation.
How the contributed land must be used
The company's notes set out the share of the contributed land that is reserved by rule for particular uses, and the share left freely saleable. These are percentages of the land contributed as equity, not of the whole region.
Land appropriation, as a share of the contributed land
| Quantity | Value | Unit | Date reference | Tag | Source file and page | CK |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land appropriation roads | 15 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land appropriation ews housing | 10 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land appropriation parks playgrounds open space | 5 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land appropriation social infrastructure | 5 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land appropriation sale by appropriate authority or dicdl | 15 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land reserved for specified purpose total | 50 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) | |
| Land freely saleable by dicdl | 50 | percent of total land area | at 31 March 2025 | OFFICIAL | dicdl_ar25.pdf, p110 (printed p99) |
Source: note 44 of the DICDL annual report FY2024-25, page 110. Transcribed from a page render because that table has no text layer, then checked against its own printed total.
What the land record does not contain
- Per-allottee land area is NOT disclosed in either report. Both give only a cumulative total (530 acres at 2025-03-31, 522 acres at 2024-03-31) against a named but explicitly non-exhaustive list of allottees. No acreage or price can be attributed to Tata Semiconductor, Renew Photovoltaics, Polycab, Inox Air Products or Tata Chemicals.
- Per-allottee consideration is NOT disclosed, with one exception: the FY2023-24 report discloses a 13,646.74 lakh GSEM land-allotment subsidy receivable relating to the allotment made to Semifab Private Limited (AR_FY2023-24.pdf p112). No other allottee has a monetary figure attached.
- Land price per acre / per sq m is NOT disclosed in either report. The FY2023-24 report states only that land was allotted to anchor tenants 'at discounted rate' (AR_FY2023-24.pdf p117) and does not quantify the discount or the rate.
- Land monetised DURING each financial year (as an area figure) is NOT stated. Both reports give cumulative allotted acreage only. The 530 minus 522 difference is not presented by the source as a year's allotment and has not been computed here.
There is no price per acre in either report, no per allottee area and no schedule of plots. A site that publishes any of those for Dholera is not taking them from these documents.
Source: declared gaps in the DICDL dataset, reproduced without edit.